Ashby & Geddes Names New Directors and Associates

Richard L. Renck and Carolyn Hake named as Directors

Ashby & Geddes is pleased to announce that Carolyn Hake and Richard L. Renck have been made directors of the firm and that Karen Skomorucha and Toni-Ann Platia have become associates with the firm.

Carolyn Hake.  Following her graduation from Widener Law School and the completion of her term as the Wolcott Law Clerk to The Honorable Randy J. Holland of the Delaware Supreme Court, Carolyn began her practice at Ashby & Geddes.  Carolyn primarily represents business entities and individuals in corporate and commercial litigation in the Delaware Court of Chancery and in Delaware District Court.  She has counseled and represented the firm’s clients in a broad range of corporate issues, including mergers and acquisitions and the fiduciary duties of directors and controlling stockholders.

Richard L. Renck.  Following his term as a clerk for the Court of Chancery of the State of Delaware, Richard continued in private practice focusing on proceedings in the Court of Chancery arising under the provisions of the Delaware General Corporation Law.  In recent years, Richard has represented companies and  controlling stockholders, as well as directors in various proceedings in the Court of Chancery, including litigation involving corporate mergers and acquisitions and shareholder class and derivative actions.  Richard has also advised special committees of directors, companies involved in proxy contests, and companies engaged in complex commercial litigation.

Karen B. Skomorucha.  Karen is a graduate of American University and Washington College of Law and joined the firm’s Bankruptcy and Insolvency Practice following her clerkship with The Honorable Brendan Linehan Shannon in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware.

Toni-Ann Platia. Toni-Ann is a magna cum laude graduate of Widener University School of Law. Toni-Ann’s practice focuses on corporate and commercial litigation matters in the Court of Chancery of the State of Delaware.